One Voice

Just One Voice,
Singing in the darkness,
All it takes is One Voice,
Singing so they hear what’s on your mind,
And
when you look around you’ll find
There’s more than
One Voice…… (Barry Manilow)

Hail, and well met!! It’s been a while, and a lot has happened. This entry will likely take me much of the afternoon
because it’s been a while, and so much has happened. I’d like to take this time to re-acquaint and catch up, if I
may.

This song was brought back to me yesterday when I was with a group of my Temple friends and we were discussing
various ways of celebrating our holidays and lunar events. As I was riding the train home this morning, ruminating
about the blog I would write today, it came back again, and resonated. I hope the reason becomes clear as you read.
You see, about a year ago, I was gifted with an experience called Emerge, one of the many results of which was
finding my voice. MY voice. Not my parents, my previous religions, my issues and struggles, my loves gained and
lost…..MY voice. Since then I have begun to use it more often, and the simultaneous and resulting effects have
been a wonder. Just one little voice…..

Since finding said voice, I have begun to ask more questions. Share more insights. Gain more confidence in my
communication skills. This Emerge event took place toward the end of my series of classes in my Wiccan temple. When
that series of classes was coming to it’s conclusion, I was still thinking about how cool it was what I had learned
and what I was still learning, and what I had yet to go. Then, at our ‘graduation’, I was named an initiated priest
of the Temple of Tir na nOg. (The first initiated…indeed it’s own honor.) It was not until that moment that I
‘got’ where this was going. Wow….a Wiccan priest! Five years ago, I wanted to be Melinda Gordon, Ghost
Whisperer….and now here I am, a Wiccan priest. A leader. A teacher. Even moving into counselor…mentor….and one
who apparently gives off notable amounts of energy. When that happened, my voice became stronger. More
confident…sure of itself. The words came. Even in my work as an ASL interpreter, my communication skills continue
to flourish. I have the words to express myself, and the Voice to use them. In conversations with friends a family,
I can ‘get’ the terms they are struggling for, and provide accurate ones for what they are trying to convey. What an
amazing thing to be consciously aware of! And then, there is more than one Voice….

Singing in the darkness,
Joining with your One Voice,
Each and every note another octave,
Hands are joined and fears
unlocked…. (Barry Manilow)

Another thing I am finding is that this renewed awareness of the words to express myself is directly connected with
my intuition. Intuition can inform speech and communication quite profoundly. Again, even in my work, intuition
often informs me of how to use the language of the Deaf to clearly convey the message, meaning, and content.
Intuition is such a powerful thing! Since my initiation as a Wiccan priest, and after experiencing so much and such
a variety of ‘what did I do???’ in response to not only feedback from my families, but also in peoples’ interactions
with me – even their children’s – I  am beginning to end the questioning, and I am simply enjoying the marveling at
such situation. In that change from question to marvel is acceptance. WHOA! Acceptance. *Say it again?*
A-C-C-E-P-T-A-N-C-E. Powerful word. And in this process, I have found that I am proceeding strictly on intuition.
Not only my own intuition, but the fuller intuitive web in the Universe. Not entirely what I  retained from my
Temple classes. Not only from ideas of what I am ‘supposed’ to do. I literally have no idea what is next. But I
follow my intuition…my guides….what feels right in a moment. 

If only
One Voice
Would start it on its own
We need just One Voice
Facing the unknown,
And that One Voice
Would
never be alone
It takes that One Voice (Barry Manilow)

My little Voice. First time it started to become more than that was when I stood up to my uncle who had been my
abuser during my young life. The feeling was so empowering! Then it didn’t really manifest like that again until
much more recent years. The time in between was much needed time for my soul to experience….to have, lose, enjoy,
suffer, experience a whole lot. And within those experiences was a ton of information gathering. Yet my Voice was
still small….unsure….scared….lacking in confidence to speak. I knew a LOT! But to speak it is a different
thing, and that was a challenge many times….and yet not at and with others. Not sure of that pattern, but I don’t
question it anymore. In times when I don’t feel like I had my Voice, I believe that I was still an effect in
peoples’ lives

Since my Emerge, since my initiation, indeed since taking on this part of my journey, I can feel how I have grown,
learned, and continued to share and teach. And I’m grateful. And now it’s ramping up. I have been able to be
available to people not only as a sounding board, which I’ve long been good at. Not only as someone who has some
experience, knowledge, and intuitive guidance to have something of value to share. But as someone who feels able to
be led by the intuitive web and it’s Voice to show by example/experience. Someone who can help people have a
meaningful experience in ritual But to be able to show that, I must have a Voice. 

And so , I have just entered the final big personal emergence. What this is will be shared in a later blog
entry…I’m just really starting it now. But my Voice has never felt stronger….never felt more heard…never felt
more helpful to others. And this mixed bag of gifts is fairly overwhelming. But compared to past events of
overwhelmed….without a Voice…..I am LOVING this! 

Just One Voice
Singing in the darkness,
All it takes is One Voice,
Shout it out and let it ring.
Just One Voice,
It takes that One Voice,
And everyone will sing!
(wow….this actually did happen in one sitting. 🙂 ) 
Love, Light, Bliss, and Blessings to all! )O(

About Rob Russo

June baby in 1962 in Chicago of Irish and Sicilian parents. I'm gay and Wiccan....now that the shock is out of the way, I am a mystic, energy/light worker/teacher, sensitive, paranormal investigator, local tour guide, and student of the Universe. Love and Light!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Voice

  1. Rob Russo says:

    (this actually happened a little over a week ago…I had a technical problem with WP, but now here it is, and I am SO glad!1)

Leave a Reply

