Being happier with myself

Greetings! This post will likely be a bit shorter because it is actually a question from me that I really want to hear from you all about. I was just talking with my friend Lynn about this yesterday, so here goes.

My journey of the last couple of years is fairly clear in this blog. Much of this journey has involved a lot more time in a lot of happiness. And here starts the loop. I find that I have a hard time understanding how to be in that happiness….in that elevated energy….here at home by myself. Out in public, I can share it….I greet the public transit operators and customer service folks that I meet. But just being here by myself at home and feeling very happy and full of love…and no one to share it with….I just don’t get it. And that gets me thinking about how no one is around to share it with, usually during those times when people actually are busy that evening or weekend or whenever. And I still end up going back to the familiar drama…and the loop continues. I spend time back in the doldrums until I loop back around to the joy.

It seems that I am such the sharer that I don’t know how to share it just with myself. Does this make sense? I don’t know how to be still here and enjoying it without exchanging it with a loved one…or even a stranger who has questions on their own journey. You know that feeling when you meet someone that you feel a special ‘click’ with, and you can’t wait to get home and tell your friends about it? That’s the one. That’s the kind of thing I’m talking about. That want to share it with someone else. There’s that word again…’share’.

And so there is my question to you all. How do you folks enjoy these beautiful moments of happiness, love, and joy when you can’t share it with another person? Or maybe a better way to ask this is how do you do it successfully? In a healthy manner? Just sitting quietly and being happy?

I really do want to hear from as many of you as possible. I’d like to hear, no matter how ‘silly’ you may think it sounds, or whether you think it makes sense or not. The one thing I would ask is that responses do not wander into the realm of adult audiences….I understand about that, and that is not what I’m asking here. Aside from that, feel free to start typing below, and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Love and Light, everyone!

About Rob Russo

June baby in 1962 in Chicago of Irish and Sicilian parents. I'm gay and Wiccan....now that the shock is out of the way, I am a mystic, energy/light worker/teacher, sensitive, paranormal investigator, local tour guide, and student of the Universe. Love and Light!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being happier with myself

  1. Christian says:

    There is not always there to share happiness or sorrow, sometimes I just grin on my own and say thank you out loud! We all have a need to connect and share with others, sometimes we dance and smile alone and that is OK too! πŸ™‚

    • Rob Russo says:

      Aw, thanks, Christian! I know you are straight….but can’t you just marry me anyway? You can sleep with whomever you want to….. πŸ™‚ Seriously, I appreciate this, and I will work on that. I do love you. πŸ™‚

  2. Becky says:

    This is the very thing I have been dealing with and working on for over a year now myself. I very rarely like to be by myself and never was from childhood ( grew up with 4 siblings and extended family nearby) thru to my 50’s I experienced much loss over a 2 year period and consequently suffered extreme sadness and feelings of isolation. What I have found to help me is EFT (tapping) and meditation.

    • Rob Russo says:

      Thanks so much, Becky! I actually have 4 sisters myself…no brothers, and I’m the middle child. And with all this around me, I still felt alone in some very important ways. My early – and early teen time – abusive experiences created a place within that I did not get out of for a long, time, and people did not get into. So that was much of the barrier from more interaction with others. As that has gone away, the want of the interaction with others seems to have become voracious! πŸ™‚ As for the meditation, I do think that getting better related with my non-physical folk would be a helpful thing. I feel I need to arrive at a level of satisfaction with relating this way with the non-physical, and move away from the sense of non-satisfaction because they are not physical. Does that make sense? πŸ™‚

  3. I am a very solitary and independent person by nature. However, I love to make people smile and live to spread happiness. I am a walking paradox, lol. That said, I am very used to my own company. Even though I am married, there are moments and events that happen in my life where – for whatever reason – I am unable to share it with my husband. It is in those times that I write about it in as much detail as I possibly can. I also recently started a private video journal that captures my emotions better, but nothing beats just writing it all out. Maybe try that in those moments where you are not able to share with others… for in essence, you are capturing the memory to share with yourself later down the line. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone back to read over those special moments in my life and relive the lovely memories all over again. β™₯

    • Rob Russo says:

      Thanks so much, Becky! I’ve never been very good at journaling. I’ve tried it a few times, but my problem is there is still that lack of interaction. Does that make sense? I think this blog and Facebook are as close as I seem to get. πŸ™‚ I realize that another part of this is that I am working with getting good with the solitary aspects of my life. With this lifetime, I’ve had loads of it locked within my little internal prison/safe place. Now that I’m coming out of it, the desire toward interaction is fairly strong. Further thoughts? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

