Recent good lessons

This past weekend, I was gifted with the weekend with my family of origin. Now, be aware, I have not always experienced this relationship as very well. But that is an important part of my journey, and I value it highly. At this time, and for the most part, it is a very lovely and wonderful relationship. And so I wanted to share my perceptions of how this wonderful weekend happened.

A focal point of the weekend was the celebration of the 80th birthday of my father. What a man. This man has experienced so many things in this lifetime that I wonder about what his soul is wanting/learning/gathering from it. He immigrated here when he was about 15. His father had been here for a long enough time before him and his mother that he was considered as not needing a father to learn from. He went to DePaul Academy for his high school and college years…even worked at a pizza place on the corner through school. Before he got here, he and his mother were dodging bombs in Sicily during WWII. When he got here, his life changed a lot. And he has been learning and growing hereΒ  ever since. He is truly an amazing man!

During this weekend, I was staying with my mom, sister, and 2 nieces. We had the BEST time! My mom is also an amazing woman…her story may be a separate blog. But these women and I spent a really fun, laugh-filled weekend! During this weekend, my sister (the youngest), shared something with me that is beyond value. We were in the car in transit, and she shared that I was more fun to be with, and that she did not feel any more that she had to tread carefully with her words or what she was talking about. The reason that was so wonderful was that I feel the same way. So it was a massive and most beautiful validation.

On the other hand, I have a niece who has not given me any notice for years now. Well, apparently, this past weekend showed me that her mother – my sister – seems to feel the same way. She did not look at me once, much less say anything to me. Her kids did, which was very nice. If their mother ever decides to ask a question or two for further information that might alter her mindset, that is up to her.

Another learning experience for me….not that it was anything totally new….is that my baby sister’s older daughter has begun her cycle. I am bringing this up only because it showed me the experience of a young woman learning about this part of her experience…and that some things about it can’t be easily fixed. Like she can only take so much of a particular medicine before it may be unhealthy. I had never spent much time thinking about the earlier experiences of young women and the wants that they would have at these times. I felt more for her this weekend…and I love her so much.

Something else that happened is that I learned that my relationship with my family of origin has reached a really beautiful stage. The other night, we were having dinner and chatting. Somehow, the topic of Justin Beiber came up, and in a somewhat negative sense. My knee-jerk response was to get somewhat hot under the collar and vent a bit about that negative perspective. During my response, I cut off my mother’s comment and vented. Later, I did apologize to my mom for cutting her off, and she did finish her thoughts about that topic. The important thing to me is that I felt trusting enough with them to be able to vent that to them. And then, to return to the previous mindset. How wonderful!

So this past weekend showed me a few things. It showed me that I am loved. It showed me that I am perceived as I am right now, which is wonderful. It showed me that my sister is more sensitive than others in my family would like to admit. it showed me that I have healed a whole lot of experiences in this lifetime, which I believe is necessary for progress. It showed me that i am happy and relaxed …. So much more so than before. I am grateful for these lessons, and the people who have been such a part of these lessons.

Much Love and Light to you all! And know my gratitude at having achieved the level of Love, awareness, and openness to learning that I am at. I love you all. πŸ™‚

About Rob Russo

June baby in 1962 in Chicago of Irish and Sicilian parents. I'm gay and Wiccan....now that the shock is out of the way, I am a mystic, energy/light worker/teacher, sensitive, paranormal investigator, local tour guide, and student of the Universe. Love and Light!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recent good lessons

  1. ICEMAN says:

    First of all, I really like this blog!!! I feel connected to this blog from another perspective… My family’s affair is somewhat similar to yours. I have two gay cousins and I am very close to both of them. I love them no matter what. Unfortunately, a few of our (my cousins and I) aunt and uncle who is happened to be a very homophobic and like you said they don’t want to do nothing with you or even look at you. The worst thing for me to see is that how some of my uncle don’t even speak or acknowledged my cousins when they are there at a family party or whatever…NOT EVEN A SIMPLE “HELLO”! To be honest, I admire and have a lot of respect for my cousins and yourself; Rob, for going out there in life and fight against adversity. Believe me, I know what it is like to go against adversity, daily. Bottom line, remember this none of us whether straight, gay, black, white, male, female, or even impairment can be perfect for anybody. By having all of the different and varies of background of individual is what make the life beautiful! I am glad that you had a very special weekend with your family! ERIN GO BRAGH!!!!!

    • Rob Russo says:

      Thank you so much, Robert! I love hearing from you in here, and I’m grateful for your input. I hope things get better for your cousins….how old are they? Do they have people to talk to about such things? Feel free to refer them to this blog, if you think it might be helpful to them. πŸ™‚

  2. buttonsbowsmom@gmail.com says:

    What wonderful things to see and to learn. So glad it was a wonderful weekend. Great Blog!!!

  3. Tony Jurcak says:

    Rob, I was really happy to read this blog..I’m so glad that things with you’re family are falling into place and you can enjoy each others company. As for you’re sister that wouldn’t say anything, that’s her issue and perhaps one day she will be on her journey to understanding, all you can do is take one step at a time (just as you have been) Much love and caring thoughts to you my friend.

Leave a Reply

