A break from cable and internet

So for about a week – perhaps a little more than – my Comcast services were suspended because of a past due bill. I had a feeling it was coming, and I thought well, if it happens, I still have my cell phone to be able to connect to email, Facebook, and work sites. About a day later, my cell phone began to falter. My connection to internet….Facebook….the outside world….lessened even more. That’s about when I panicked. At least for about half a day, I got sort of bitchy, and I realized that it was because I was frustrated and freaked out to not have my internet connection whenever I wanted it. At least for TV entertainment, I had DVDs I could utilize to pass the time. But no internet?! Now, to be fair, I still have my Kindle Fire, which can connect to the internet with a wi-fi signal. That would mean I would have to go somewhere that has one. (I did find that the Irish pub across the street has a decent one that I could use by standing outside of there on the way home and catch up on games and such.)

Now, there’s something to explain here. The Universe and my Guides know that I can be a real slow mover. And so they will allow things to happen that will bring me to a halt, and make me slow down and pay attention. I had opportunities here….opportunities to be quiet and pay attention to my Guidance, Diety, Archangels, etc. I had enough groceries. I had enough to do to pass the time, and I would be just fine. But I had to pay attention to the fact that I had all this without cable and internet. And I started to pay more attention to my body, and what it was telling me. And when I was eating better, I was recognizing when I was not hungry anymore, and I would put the rest away. If I still felt hungry, I would then ask myself why I felt that way, and make some tea. I was being shown that I did not need the habitual television watching to feel…what? Companionship? Company? Somehow not alone? Ah….interesting….I had a chance to think about whether that was what I had been doing for a long time. And it was really out of habit. And now that the habit was taken away, I had the chance to look at what else what available and possible.

Did I spend more time in meditation? No. Did I spend more time paying attention to Diety, Archangels, and Guides? Oh, yes. Did I start to adapt my lifestyle? Yup. I realized that without logging into Facebook first thing in the morning, I have more relaxed time to get ready for work and go. I realized that my work schedule allowed for me to stop home between jobs so I was no longer carrying around a cooler full of food. I was walking more. (I’m now even starting to take the stairs more often…what’s up with that?!) I watched “The Tudors” series on DVD, which I own. I started to pay more attention to when I went to bed. And I also found that with no additional spending money, alcohol went away as well….and that was just fine. So I had lots of time to become aware of the habits my life had become, and how much of that I really didn’t need. It was quite liberating.

Also quite scary. It’s quiet in here…what do I do? This is scary! Is it really? How so? I feel so lonely! Really? That’s fine, and remember that there are plenty of non-physical energies with you all the time. πŸ™‚ Ah yes, that’s true! But I still feel sad. Okay, then, you have the right and permission to feel sad and scared. Feel it for a while, and then let’s get Guidance and Archangels involved. And yes, that feels better.

This is the kind of conscious activity taking place during this time. And I began to really connect more to the Lady Diana, to the Archangels, my Guides, Teachers, Loved Ones, Ascended Masters, and Ancestors. And Joshua and Page. And my body, and my thought patterns. And all of these are telling me things, and have been for a very long time. I was not listening….partly because I was co-living on Facebook. Partly because I was watching/listening to television reruns. Sometimes because I chose alcohol….which is a nice way to check out, but when you check out that way, you really really check out. I decided I don’t like that, and more so, my body does not like it much anymore at all. And so the fruits, veggies, and tea and water.

When the cable got turned back on, I still preferred DVDs. In the morning, I prefer Pandora music than the TV. I am finding myself more comfortable that I thought I would be without the television. I still want the internet, but I also have realized that time with myself is as important as time with friends online. And that’s a big one. Even if it means I am working puzzles or watching a DVD or whatever…..the experience without cable/internet here at the Manse definitely showed me a new direction that I can go with my time. I even ended up TALKING on the phone a little more…whaaat?! And I have more time and interest in going to see people…which also sometimes involves more walking and water and….and there is a part of the healthier cycle.

Today’s time with my friend Deb, and then time with my Temple folks was really special. Class was wonderful, and I already began to move into a role of guidance for the class just behind our class. How amazing! Such a wonderful feeling of a fuller interactivity there, and a lovely combination of still learning more of what I want to learn, and also passing on what I have learned. I love that!

All this from a bunch of days without the usual ready access to cable and internet. I am not making a statement here against either….indeed, I still love them both! But this experience has been really important for me at this moment in my journey. And I am very grateful.

As always, please feel free to share your thoughts on this set of musing. Any and all are welcome. Love and Light to you all.

About Rob Russo

June baby in 1962 in Chicago of Irish and Sicilian parents. I'm gay and Wiccan....now that the shock is out of the way, I am a mystic, energy/light worker/teacher, sensitive, paranormal investigator, local tour guide, and student of the Universe. Love and Light!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A break from cable and internet

  1. Christian says:

    Each year I take 7 days off without internet, TV, cell phone. I find this very refreshing to be off the grid and escape from information overload. πŸ™‚

  2. Rob Russo says:

    I very much understand, Tom. Hang in there, my friend. Until the end of the month, there’s not much I can offer, but if there IS anything I can do, let me know.

  3. Tom says:

    Unfortunately, if you lose all three, it’s impossible to do business in the modern world. Two of three is OK, though. I;m there right now.

Leave a Reply

