Psyche or Physical?

For a little while now, I have heard about the concept of the body holding onto emotional energy, even when we are not aware of it. The body does have a definite response to emotion, right? When we get angry, many times our blood pressure raises, and our faces get red…sometimes, we tremble. If we get scared, we sweat and our stomach (and lower) lurches. When we are sad, or happy, we feel it in the center of our chest, yes? Our eyes produce tears. If we are unsure, there is a physical want to step backward. So it can be understood that emotions have an energy of their own, and that energy can affect a great deal…in a healthful way or a not so healthful way.

 

I believe that the mind, body, and spirit are absolutely connected. Each can affect the others in helpful ways, and not so helpful. And if you understand the chakra system, you are aware that blockages or overflows of any of them have an effect as well. And until we become aware of it, these limiting aspects have a definite effect on our living experience. A blockage in a particular energy center can prevent the healthful flow of the particular energy associated with that chakra. An overflow can cause a loss of that energy…a hemorrhage, if you will. Neither is helpful to the well-being of the physical, the mind, or the spirit.

 

A few years ago, my friend Denise very generously gave of herself in teaching me a whole lot about a lot of things. One of them was about how emotional energy can remain in the body until we become aware of it and release it. She did an exercise with me wherein I brought up a then current situation and person that was, at the time, causing me GREAT consternation, anger, etc. Denise led me to feel those feelings in my body. And what did I do? I crossed my arms, and rocked back and forth. I allowed the feeling to be fully present in my physical. And then I was taught a Qigong breathing method that releases that energy. I did the breathing, and I could feel a notable reduction in the physical and emotional sensation of that particular event/person. How wonderful it was!

 

More recently, I had an appointment with a dear friend from Ireland. The appointment was regarding kinesiology. After the initial interview, we started to work, me lying on a table. First, the need was felt to clear a more recent and immediate emotional energy that was blocking the work. We did that, sending the unhealthful energy into the Earth. Then, we proceeded to work with what I believed vs. what my body believed. It was about loving myself. Upon guidance, I repeated out loud “I love myself.”. Then my teacher adjusted a few things, performed an EFT type method, and asked me to do the exercise again. I did, and I felt some emotional shift….and then she asked me to look directly at her and say the same thing. I did, and I got through one and a half repetitions, and burst into tears of release! Absolute release. I felt parts of my physical body release and relax in a way that I didn’t even know was possible, and I also had had no idea that my body was holding onto that energy! Until it released. What a feeling! At that point, I had no more question about this whole concept. I felt it, I released it, I experienced it. Once I feel it physically, I don’t know how to deny it.

 

I understand that the body continuing to hold onto emotional energies that are not healthful, it does begin to affect the physical body. It’s systems, it’s organs, it’s natural way of operating. (There is also a part about what one brings into the physical…what we eat….but that is a different blog.) My idea is to pay more attention to my physical body, and what it is telling me. What it wants, What it doesn’t want. What is present that is not healthful, both physically and energetically. And what it feels. Yes…what it feels. And if those feelings are not healthful, I will focus on releasing those.

 

I receive happier energies. I do not reject non-happy energies…that is resistant thought. I receive health, and well-being of mind, body, and spirit.. I allow. Allowing is SO powerful! So I don’t focus on resistant ideas, but allowing healthful ideas. I think it opens up the mind, body, and spirit to the healthful. And I BREATHE!! We tend to forget how to breathe….or that to breathe. I know I do…even in the course of my interpreting work. But I’ve experienced the difference between breathing consciously and deeply, and not.

 

The physical body can really tell us a great deal if we only pay attention to it. Even hiking at the Arboretum last week showed me a lot about paying attention to my body and what it wants. It was awesome! I look forward to continuing it.

 

Please feel free to let me know what you think of this entry….your views are really cool!

 

Love and Light to all!

About Rob Russo

June baby in 1962 in Chicago of Irish and Sicilian parents. I'm gay and Wiccan....now that the shock is out of the way, I am a mystic, energy/light worker/teacher, sensitive, paranormal investigator, local tour guide, and student of the Universe. Love and Light!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

